## **Speakers**

## PROF. OSAMA A. MOHAMMED

Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean of Research Director of Energy Systems Research Laboratory College of Engineering and Computing Florida International University; Miami, Florida USA



## BIOGRAPHY

Dr. Osama A. Mohammed is a Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Associate Dean of Research at the College of Engineering and Computing, Florida International University. He is also the director for the School of Electrical, Computer and Enterprise Engineering (ECEE) at FIU and is a Director of the Energy Systems Research Laboratory.

He has researched various topics in transportation electrification, power and energy systems, design optimization, and physics-based modeling in electric drive systems, and power electronics. He is world-renowned for his contributions in these areas. He has performed significant research in electromagnetic signatures, EMI, wide bandgap devices, and movable power systems modeling and analysis. He currently has active research projects with several federal agencies in these areas. In addition, he has also completed projects in power system operation, smart grid distributed control and interoperability, cyber-physical systems, and co-design of cyber and physical components for future energy systems applications. He has published more than 850 articles in refereed journals, and other IEEE refereed international conference records. Professor Mohammed holds 19 patents. His publications are highly cited, and his presentations are frequently invited, at research, academic and industrial organizations, and conferences worldwide. He also authored a book and several book chapters. Dr. Mohammed is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, a Fellow of IEEE and a Fellow of the Applied Computational Electromagnetic Society. He received the prestigious IEEE Power and Energy Society Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award, the 2012 Outstanding Research Award from Florida International University, the 2017 outstanding doctoral mentor, and the university distinguished Professor honors in 2018.